Yoga in GoaYoga in Goa

Hatha Yoga

Hathayoga is regarded as the first part of Rajayoga.

So Hathayoga is concentrating on the physical and mental wellness to the achievement of Rajayoga. Sri Adinatha is the founder of Hathayoga.

'Hatha' is considered to be a compound word formed of two syllables; 'ha' means sun and, 'tha' means moon. These correspond to the breath which flows through the right and the left nostrils. Their yoga or union is called Hathayoga.

Aim of Hatha Yoga
The main objective of Hathayoga is to create an absolute balance of the interacting activities and process of the physical body, mind, and energy. When this balance is create the impulse generated give a call of awakening to the central forces (sushumna nadi), which responsible for the evolution of human consciousness.

Hatha pradipika classical text explained four limbs:
  1. Asanas
  2. Pranayamas
  3. Mudras & Bandhas
  4. Nadanusandhana
1. Asanas
Asana, the first component of Hathayoga , is the physical posture , which overcomes the fatigue and brings mental as well as physical steadiness , health and lightness to the body.

Hatha pradipika explained 15 asanas.

To enhance the benefits of Asanas Swatmarama has explained the concepts of Pathya-apathya , the agreeable and non-agreeable food & Mitahara , the moderate diet.
  • Eating food which is bitter, sour pungent,salty or hot, green vegetables sour gruel, oil, mustard, and (consuming alcohol, fish, meat, curds, buttermilk, horse-gram, berries, oil-cakes, asafoetida, garlic, etc. are said to be bad for the practitioner. - Apathya.
  • The following things are suitable to be taken by the practitioner : wheat, rice, barley, the grain called sashtika and purified food, milk, ghee, brown-sugar, butter, sugar-candy, honey, dry ginger, patolaka fruit, five leafy vegetables, green-gram and pure water. - Pathya.
  • 'Moderate diet' is defined to mean agreeable and sweet food, should fill two parts of his stomach with food and third with water, leaving the fourth free for the passage of air and eaten (as an offering) to please Siva.
2. Pranayama
Pranayama means the regulation of breath. In Sanskrit prana indicates breath and ayama means a extension. Pranayama is a method by which we increase this energy.

Though the practice of Pranayama will cleanse the nadis, but those having excess of fat or phlegm must practice the SIX PURIFICATORY METHODS or SHAT-KRIYAS first to cleanse body and mind. They are- Dhauti, Basti, Neti, Trataka, Nauli, Kapala Bhati

Hatha yoga explains eight varieties of pranayama, they are:

Surya bhedhana, Ujjayi, Sitkari, Shitali, Bhastrika, Bhramari, Murcha, Plavini

Suryabhedana ---------- Vatadosha
Ujjayi ---------------------- Kapha dosha
Shitali & Sitkari --------- Pittadosha
Bhastrika ---------------- Tridosha

In samskrta Bandha means 'to lock', or 'to hold' or 'to tighten'.

According to hatha pradipika Bandhas & mudras are:
Mahamudra, mahabandha, mahavedha, khecari, uddiyana, mulabandha, jalandharabandha, viparitakarani, vajroli and sakticalana.

The final state of hatha yoga is nadanusandhanam. Dissolving the inner sound, this will lead to the ultimate aim of it, Rajayoga.

  • - Professional Ashtanga Yoga Courses.
  • - Thorough know how on theory & practical aspects.
  • - Learn, Deliver, Practice Yogic Therapy.
  • - Well Qualified Professional Faculty.
  • - Affliated with YPAI.

Chogm Road, Saligao, Calangute, Goa, India
Tel: +91-832-2409275/2409127/2409275
Fax: +91-832-2409127
Skype: anhcgoa
© 2008 ANHC. All rights reserved. Terms of Use and Disclaimer
Our Other Sites : |